Shrimp and Mushroom Risotto

Had some homemade chicken stock frozen from when I made it a month ago, and I saw that we had some arborio rice handy, so I immediately thought of making some risotto for dinner. I normally use pancetta, prosciutto or some other cured meat, along with asparagus or green peas, but instead I thought of trying something different, and picked up some shrimp and mushrooms from an Asian supermarket on the way back from home.

Ingredients:
Chicken stock (homemade)
Shrimp (about 1 pound)
Mushrooms (portobello, cremini)
1 yellow onion
Minced garlic or shallots
Butter – lots of it
Cooking wine (for the shrimp)

Arborio rice
Parmessan cheese

Optional: Lemon peel for zest, fresh parsley

Preparation:
I started out by heating a tablespoon or two of butter in a pan, threw in some garlic and onions, and some herbs (parsley), and then cooked the mushrooms. After they were nice and carmelized, I set them aside, reserving the juices, and then cooked the shrimp in a similar manner, this time adding some cooking wine as well – again, when I was done, I reserved the juices to add to the risotto later.

In the meantime, I heated up some more butter in a Dutch oven, adding the remaining onion and garlic, and then stirred in the arborio rice. After coating the rice with the butter, I added about 2 cups of chicken broth, and simmered and stirred until the liquid was absorbed. I continued adding broth, about 1 cup at a time until it was absorbed, for about 20 minutes, or until S tasted the rice and declared it almost-cooked.

At the end, I stirred in the reserved mushroom/shrimp juices, and simmered the risotto until it was tender and cooked. I then topped the risotto with some salt and pepper, as well as some Parmesan cheese.

Previously Made:
Wednesday, June 15, 2011: S came in at the end for the final spicing and taste-testing (edit: I was reminded that that included some very important lemon-zesting). Turned out great, especially when topped with the Parmessan. We also had Villa di Corlo Lambrusco and watched Inside Job.

Referenced Sources:
http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Shrimp-Risotto-4970
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/mushroom-risotto-recipe/index.html
http://www.globalgourmet.com/food/jgf/2000/0200/portobello.html

One response to “Shrimp and Mushroom Risotto

  1. Pingback: Risotto, redux. | What It Chew

Leave a Reply

