Vengeful Spinach-Artichoke Dip

So back in college, people used to try to steal my boyfriends all the time.  They were almost always unsuccessful.  That’s beside the point, but I didn’t want anyone to worry about it.

Anyway, the source of this recipe can best be described as stolen from someone who was trying to steal my boyfriend.  This occurred in Santa Cruz, where my friends and I rented a cabin for a long weekend and did a little cooking.  There are many stories I could tell from that weekend, but the best one is that I got The. Best. Spinach-Artichoke Dip. Ever. out of it.

It’s been about a decade now and I’ve made this dip countless times.  Each time, it’s so good that I count among my blessings that a small, somewhat lost (and somewhat insufferable) girl was trying to steal my boyfriend.

Ingredients:

1 10 oz. package of chopped frozen spinach
2 small jars or 1 can of artichoke hearts (marinated or not, both are good), chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 cup parmesan cheese, shredded or grated
Tortilla chips or baguette wedges for dipping

1. Preheat the oven to 350.

2. Combine all ingredients and mix thoroughly.   Put into a small baking pan and bake for 30 minutes or until cheese is melted and lovely.

Some notes:
– It’s okay to use fat-free or soy everything (except the cheese) — it turns out deliciously no matter what.
– Frozen spinach is a pain in the ass.  I usually empty the package into a bowl of warm water to defrost it while I prep the other ingredients, then strain out the water.  It helps to squeeze the spinach mush in your hands or punch it down in the strainer to get the water out.   It’s a mess but worth it.

Leave a Reply

