Tuna Pasta Salad

photo (32)

I made this out of the blue over the weekend after we had our typical green smoothie breakfast (more on this later) and spent some time walking around junk stores trying to find crap for our place while I simultaneously ate all the M&Ms I had in my purse. Upon our return, my annoyingly wasp-waisted spouse decided to go running before eating and I decided I was going to eat right now, and I was going to eat some pasta.  Hence this pasta salad, which turned out good enough that I ended up making it again the next day when our friend came over for brunch.

Ingredients:

1 can of tuna, drained (I used the solid white kind we keep in our pantry)
8 oz. pasta (bowties or shells are nice vehicles for the saucy accoutrements)
A couple stalks of scallions, chopped
Mayo for texture and sweet relish to taste
A dash of red wine vinegar (I would have used lemons, apple cider vinegar, or anything else if I’d had it, but this was fine)
1/2 can cannellini beans
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil

While your pasta water is boiling, mix everything but the beans in a serving bowl.  When the pasta is perfectly al dente (or after you’ve yelled, “Shit!  The pasta!”), drain it and toss it with a bit of olive oil.  Incorporate it bit by bit, along with the beans, into the bowl of other stuff until it’s mixed evenly.

Feeds 2 people in need of an afternoon snack.

The best thing that just happened involving this pasta is I came home and ate a bowl of it, then realized I should have taken a picture of it for purposes of this post.  So I dished out another bowl, snapped a photo and then ate that too.  I’m having a pretty good day.

Leave a Reply

